Belle Isle Dual - Race Advance

Target Chip Ganassi Racing Belle Isle Dual Advance Notes


Races: Chevrolet Indy Dual in Detroit Race 1, May 31
              Chevrolet Indy Dual in Detroit Race 2, June 1

Drivers: @scottdixon9 @tonykanaan
Cars: No. 9 Target Chevrolet and No. 10 Energizer Chevrolet
Track: Belle Isle Park (2.34-mile street course) in Detroit, MI
TV: Race 1: ABC 3:30pm ET
       Race 2: ABC 3:30pm ET

Social: @CGRTeams #TeamTarget


Double Trouble Kickoff: The Belle Isle dual is the first of three double-header weekends in the 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series season. The second double-header will take place at Reliant Park in Houston, Texas on June 28-29, and the third will be on the streets of Toronto, Canada on July 19-20.

Divide and Conquer: On May 20, Dixon and Kanaan joined Ganassi the Indianapolis 500 starting roster in promoting the race across the nation. Dixon ventured into downtown Chicago, Ill. for press appearances and then visited the Cubs, throwing the first pitch of the game at Wrigley Field. Kanaan flew to Arlington, Texas and tried out the go-karts and Wahoo Racer waterslide at the Six Flags Hurricane Harbor waterpark.

Follow the Leader: On May 22, Chip Ganassi was inducted into the Auto Racing Hall of Fame alongside Jimmy McElreath, Leo Mehl, Bobby Rahal and Bill Simpson. There are now 148 members in the elite fraternity, which is located at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Museum.

Special Starting Spot: Dixon started the 98th running of the Indianapolis 500 in the fourth row, alongside Juan Pablo Montoya and Kurt Busch. The lineup was labeled the “Row of Champions” due to the cumulative achievements of the trio, including seven victories in Formula One, 34 in IndyCar, 11 in CART and 37 in NASCAR. The group also held two Indianapolis 500 wins as well as three INDYCAR championships, a CART championship and a NASCAR Sprint Cup Championship.

Out But Not Down: Former Target Chip Ganassi Racing driver Dario Franchitti received the honor of being named the pace car driver for the 98th running of the Indianapolis 500. The four-time Verizon IndyCar Series Champion and three-time Indianapolis 500 Winner led the field around during cautions in a 2014 Chevrolet Camaro Z/28. After retiring from his racing career at the end of 2013, Franchitti returned to Team Target in 2014 as a driving advisor for Chip Ganassi Racing Teams. Franchitti assists the team as it adapts to recent lineup changes and additions, and was on site with the team for the inaugural Grand Prix of Indianapolis and the Indianapolis 500 earlier this month. He will continue to work closely with the teams’ Verizon IndyCar Series drivers throughout the duration of the season.

Finding New Roads: All four Chip Ganassi Racing Teams (CGRT) Indy cars are utilizing the Chevrolet 2.2-liter twin turbocharged V6 engine for 2014 season. The engine produces well over 600 horsepower and close to 300 lb. ft. of torque.

100+ Wins and Counting…: The Target Racing Program, which began with Target and Chip Ganassi Racing in 1990, will be contending for their 104th win as the season progresses. The first win for the program came in 1994 with Michael’s Andretti’s Indy car victory at Surfers Paradise, Australia, when the team was a two-car, Indy car program. 102 wins later, the program’s umbrella not only includes involvement in the Verizon IndyCar Series, but in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series and the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship. The partnership between Target and Chip Ganassi Racing is one of the longest consecutive team partnerships in motor racing history.


Follow Team Target on Twitter: Continue to followTarget Chip Ganassi Racing through Chip Ganassi Racing’s official team Twitter page. Find in-race updates and weekly news on the No.9 and No.10 Target teams throughout the 2014 season by following “@CGRTeams”.


Scott Dixon and No. 9 Target Team

Double Dominance: Scott Dixon has finished inside the top-five in every INDYCAR double-header weekend he has entered. In 2011, he placed second in both races of the Texas double-header. In 2013, he placed fourth in both races at Belle Isle, first in both races on the streets of Toronto and had a first and second place finish in Texas.

The Ice Man Returns: The three-time Verizon IndyCar Series Champion (2003, 2008, 2013) and 2008 Indianapolis 500 Winner returns in 2014 for his first season alongside 2004 Series Champion and 2013 Indianapolis 500 Winner Kanaan. Dixon, the active wins leader, is in seventh place on the all-time list (1909-Present) with 33 victories, ranking only behind A.J. Foyt, the Andretti’s (Mario and Michael) and Unser’s (Al, Bobby and Al Jr.). His next pole (21st) will see him tied for 13th on the all-time list with Gil De Ferran.

The Best Defense Is A Good Offense: Dixon will spend the 2014 season attempting his first successful defense of a Verizon IndyCar Series title. "I think it's obviously a good problem to have," Dixon said. "I've been in this situation a couple of times before… I think we need to focus on making a good start in the first three or four races." His closest effort so far came in 2009 when he finished second to teammate Dario Franchitti by a mere 11 points. If Dixon is successful, he will become the 14th driver to have at least two consecutive series championships.

Title Talk: Should reigning Verizon IndyCar Series Champion Scott Dixon take home the 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series title, he would become the fifth driver to win four Indy car titles (AJ Foyt, Mario Andretti, Sebastien Bourdais, Dario Franchitti). Dixon won the title in 2003, 2008 and again in 2013.

Moving Forward: With his next victory, Dixon would tie Al Unser Jr. for sixth on the all-time wins list. Dixon won his 33rd race at Houston's Reliant Park in October 2013. A victory in 2014 will extend Dixon’s streak of consecutive seasons with a win to 10; while qualifying in the top spot would mark eight consecutive seasons with a pole. He has led at least one race for 12 consecutive seasons. Dixon has 159 consecutive starts, placing him in sixth on the all-time list and in second place behind teammate Kanaan for active drivers.

Go with What you Know: 2014 marks Dixon’s 13th year with Team Target – the longest tenure for a driver in team history (1990-Present).



2014 Verizon IndyCar Series Standings





Top 5s

Top 10s

Pts. Pos.

Scott Dixon














Top 5s

Top 10s

Scott Dixon









Mike Hull – Managing Director

Barry Wanser – Team Manager, Competition

Scott Harner – Team Manager, Administration

No. 9


Crew Chief/(R/F): Blair Julian

Shocks/Firebottle: Chris Clark

Engineer: Eric Bretzman

Engines/Radio: Troy Scheller

Assistant Engineer: Brian Welling

Fueler: Todd DeNeve

Front End/Tire Helper: Jason Beck

Gear Box/Air Jack: Andy Schneider

Front End/(R/R): Greg Shuker

Rear Tire Helper: Jake Klomp

Rear End/(L/F): Adam Rovazzini

Spotter: Robbie Fast

Rear End/(L/R): Tyler Rees

Floater: Wayne Westplate

diamond diamond